Why I “stopped” writing.

Hi.

I feel like this is weird of me. To be gone for so long without a reason why. An explanation. Or a heads up, you know? I used to be more in your faces, more “this is a work in progress but I want you guys on this journey with me.” But then somehow, I just disappeared for over a year.

A few people reached out to me over the past year. Absolutely wonderful readers who have over the years dropped comments, cheered me on, and have been there for me. I am super grateful for that.

I deeply apologize for going off without a word. I still don’t know that I am coming back. Or when that would be. Everything seems to out of my control these days, it’s so fucking annoying. But tonight –– around some minutes to 10 pm, after it started to rain seriously in my estate, it occurred to me, “Why tf have you not even given these guys an idea of why you just went off?”

And maybe my frustrations are why I have chosen tonight to say these words. Because I am so fucking frustrated and angry. And then it occurred to me that I have a platform where I can vent and at the same time, be honest. So here we go… kinda.

After I wrote King of the blaze in late December 2021, I was slightly frustrated —— and this may sound fucking arrogant —— I was annoyed that the sales weren’t what I thought they should be. I have made a decent amount of money via E-books sales on Nigerian E-book platforms in the past. I KNOW what my numbers are on a normal day. So to not be doing those numbers at the time just felt somehow. It had somehow happened with The Heiress’ Plaything too.

Honestly, I’d planned to take a short break. To re-route. To see what wasn’t working and to fix it. I remember Sally Dadzie and I spoke lengthily on the phone sometime in 2022 and she’d told me it wasn’t just me. It calmed me a bit.

But then I had this submission that Brittle Paper had accepted and I didn’t want to be writing too much stuff and just wanted to focus on editing and rewrites of the submission — Efun’s Jazz — at the time.

Then came what changed it all. An introduction to a Publisher. The Publisher being thrilled about the work and the possibilities of what it could be as a novel. Or perhaps not. Right now, I think I may have imagined it.

I know publishing isn’t easy. I am aware that publishers want to put out the best possible they can find out there; something they can back up. And that’s absolutely fair. But something about this process has me completely worn out. And it is NOT the fact that I have to do re-writes, or yank pages off. I have been doing that even as an indie E-book author. I rewrite the shit out of my work. This I have been honest about openly in the past.

It is in how everything feels stagnant.

There’s a lot of talk but no do. No movement. Promises that are all in the air and not tangible. What I have been doing for a year is writing and writing and not moving forward with anything. No concrete anything. Unfortunately, because I am so determined to write my ass off and work hard at it, it’s the only thing I can focus on.

For example, I was going back to Black Opal when I heard back from the publisher that what I had initially submitted required more work. Not a big deal, right? Except it’s still at the point of ‘we may or may not even take it AFTER this draft.’ Which means I could be back to the drawing board, get back to them and still hear ‘it needs more work’ without a contract or anything.

And what this does to you is that it zaps your energy and drains the excitement that comes with writing.

I do many things as many of us here. But the only thing that keeps me fueled in my romance witing career is how I LOVE writing it. I love losing myself in the worlds I create.

This entire back and forth has unfortunately zapped all the excitement that I am so worried I’m writing ‘just to get published.’

I’m angry. Very pissed. Because I could have had at least two E-books out there in the past year alone and be wrapped in the warmth you guys always give me. All the energy to keep hearing go back and re-write with no agreement.

It’s why I said I don’t know when I’d return or if I would. What’s the point of writing anyway when I can’t enjoy it? I’ve never done that. I love romance too much to not be into it when I write it otherwise you guys will be able to tell that my heart is not in it.

I’m sorry if this rant is too long. And maybe it’s needless. But I needed you guys to know what was happening. I didn’t abandon you. It’s been tough being away tbh. Many times I tried to see if I could write King of the blaze sequel and finish Black Opal at the same time. But I couldn’t.

So this whole rant is why I am not here anymore. I know it doesn’t make sense. Maybe I’d just walk away from this whole back and forth with the publisher and put my shit on E-book platforms. Maybe this isn’t meant to be.

Time will tell. Whatever the case is, I honestly can’t wait till I feel the pulse of excitement again and come back to you guys.

Miss you deep.

10 responses to “Why I “stopped” writing.”

  1. Thank you for sharing this. I love you ❤️❤️

    Like

  2. Tomi boo. I figured something was up but I just felt “she probably just needs a break”. Take the time you need. Last time someone sent me a vague email about not performing I left them. Now they are calling me back. Some people just expect you to beg them.

    We love you ❤️❤️

    Like

  3. Feels to good to hear from you after a very long time ❤️❤️ everything will be alright soonest 🙏🏻

    Like

  4. It’s well. Take as much break as you need to sort yourself out both in all. *Hugs*

    Like

  5. Like I always say, you are the best and you will always be my best all time writer💪. Don’t allow the back and forth dwindle your “can do spirit” just have it at the back of your mind that you are a bright and shinning light that can’t be blown out suddenly. Trust you and believe in you so much, you will continue to be my “GOAT”, no matter the decision you make as per your writing career. Take your time, “inhale and exhale” as much as you like, ” we dey here, de wait you”❤️💕

    Like

  6. Adeola Adeluola Avatar
    Adeola Adeluola

    God will strengthen you and help you through every challenges

    Like

  7. I admire you so much Tomi and you know I don’t hesitate to let you know. Please take as much time as you need, give the publishers space if that’s what you need to do for yourself. We are ready when you are, even if it’s one miniseries let’s wrap you in our warmth again. I am rooting for you as always.

    Like

  8. We love you Tomi!! Don’t let the pressure of the publishers take away what you love. Go through your past work and try to remember what you love about writing, it might help you remember why you started writing❤️

    Like

    1. Sending you e-hugs Tomi..Take your time and always remember that we are with you every step of the way..May the Almighty strengthen you immensely..

      Like

  9. Have missed you so much Tomi , time is a healer……. Let things take it’s natural progression and just do what feels right.

    When it’s right it will always come easy especially when it’s your passion so don’t worry.

    Sending you lots of love and light 🥰🥰🥰

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.